my personal god (if I have one)

my personal god
if I have one
must be a water spirit
templed
in blood

so this sitting
on the stone bank
body in water
quietly rocked
by currents

should be
prayer
but silent
& floating

raised in splashes
to a nameless god

a scaled god
shaped by wind
across water
so big, this god
he inspires new tales
of prophet-swallowing fish

living inside
that light, there,
flashing within ripples
& laughing

About Susan L Daniels

I am a firm believer that politics are personal, that faith is expressed through action, and that life is something that must be loved and lived authentically--or why bother with any of it?
This entry was posted in New Free Verse and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to my personal god (if I have one)

  1. Ian Moone says:

    very nice well constructed and thought out

  2. Leo says:

    Very lovely, nature is always inspiring…it’s difficult for me to comprehend people who seem to have no relationship, at all, with the natural world and look at it only as an inconvenience or a problem to be solved..so sad..

  3. George Ellington says:

    Yes, I can see that. I agree.

  4. Interesting poem. A person;’s Chi is more or less the same with that person in terms of attributes. The Chi goes beyond however in that the Chi is god, destiny, fate, guardian angel and force vital, determiner of life’s chances all at the same time. If one is a poet,, one’s Chi is poet. If one likes water, one Chi likes water.

  5. Seb says:

    I like the small “g” god.

  6. dannypereyra says:

    You had me right there with you. Loved the lines –
    raised in splashes
    to a nameless god

  7. Claudia says:

    living inside
    that light, there,
    flashing within ripples
    & laughing…. sounds both..peaceful and cheerful to me…i like

  8. Jeremy Nathan Marks says:

    You know, I was almost a little surprised you referred to God as “he.” The reason is that I find such power in the feminine themes and images you use that I could see a being of such grand power being an extension of the feminine “principle” (if that is the right word) that often comes through in your work.

    I really like the last two stanzas, especially the way I almost see this God being the whale, being a figure like Jonah and being the consciousness of both of them together (and the water they swim inside).

  9. You created a new buddha!

  10. Deborah Avila says:

    I could expound but succinctly ~this is a sweet spirit of inward praising the eye sees alll around ! Glorious !

  11. doncarroll says:

    love it !! first stanza is my fave:))

  12. nelle says:

    Reminds me of times spent in the White River in Vermont, back upon a bed of gravel, six inches of water rushing to either side, some spillage skimming over, cooling me down. Tranquillity, that, a moment one hopes can elongate and stretch time.

  13. Actually Susan, in Ghana, the ethnic Gas, (one of the tribes, hate using this word) refer to God as having both male and female attributes. A great poem, as always, ‘Water goddess’.

  14. jomul7 says:

    I wonder where this idea of JHVH as being male while it makes sense that the divine being is both and beyond. For some reason, your poem made me think of Poseidon, the greek god who reigns over waters.
    Nice poem!

    • Agree with you re the gender of God being something beyond us, and both. know what–I liked Poseidon (was passionate about Greek mythology as a kid), and if he wants to play in my creek instead of the ocean, I am all for it. And thanks for liking this!

Comments are closed.